NCC Hosts NW Iowa Fine Arts Show

Northwest Iowa Community College hosted the NW Iowa Fine Arts Show April 24-May 1, 2018 for both NCC and northwest Iowa high school students. On Wednesday, May 2, all students participating in the show were invited to the Fine Arts Invitational and Awards Ceremony. First, second, and third place awards were given in each category, with honorable mentions awarded at the judge’s discretion. Two overall awards were also given: A Best of Show award, chosen by art teachers, and a Students’ Choice award, as voted on by participating art students.
College Winners:
Painting/Drawing Title
1st Nayle Gil – Rock Rapids The Pressure of Life Consume
2nd Tristan Verdoorn – Hospers Circo Lusus Naturae
3rd Carmen Stover – Paullina Crazy Colours
Photography/Digital Media
1st Brandon Ramirez – Sheldon Waterlily
2nd Jared Hannasch – Glidden Lake Superior’s North Shore
3rd Taylor Schettler – Wilmont, MN Costa Rican Beach

1st Tristan Verdoorn – Hospers Trials of Time
2nd Tristan Verdoorn – Hospers Newborn’s Mobile
3rd Maria Hernandez – Sioux Center Tinfoil Dinosaur

High School Winners:
1st Jalyn Pullman – West Sioux What Is It?
2nd Zaommy Gonzalez-Brandhagen – Sheldon Untitled
3rd Mackenzie Van Voorst – Sioux Center Biracial Beauty

Painting – Honorable Mention
• Jocelyn Huss – Sioux Center Metamorphosis
• Karlee Albert – Sioux Center Coral Reef
• Sydney Petersen – Okoboji Purple Umbrellas
• Derick Mills – MOC-Floyd Valley Pear

1st Jacob Allen – Okoboji Emerging
2nd Jarron Clark – Sheldon Rusty
3rd Samantha Meeuwsen – Sioux Center No Such Thing
Ceramics – Honorable Mention
• Spencer Lafrenz – West Lyon Scared Mohawk Motorcyclist
• Summer Lentell – Sioux Center Whimsically Mindful
• Kimber White – Sioux Center Heart

1st Elise O’Regan – Rock Valley Deep Sea
2nd Miquel Guevara – Sheldon Untitled
3rd Paige Klein – MOC-Floyd Valley Untitled
Drawing – Honorable Mention
• Jewel Christensen – West Sioux Untitled
• Josh Jorgensen – MOC-Floyd Valley Star Destroyer
• Evan Myers – Boyden-Hull Hairy Bear

Sculpture/Mixed Media
1st Kianna Roemen – West Lyon Rolled Paper
2nd Bailey Nordgaard – Sheldon Giraffe
3rd Sindy Hinojosa – Sheldon Eye Painting
Sculpture/Mixed Media – Honorable Mention
• Jaylen Bork – MMC-RU Thumper
• Katherine Walton – Sibley-Ocheyedan From the Depths
• Paul Golke – Okoboji Soul Drawing

Photography/Digital Media
1st Simon Maggert – Sheldon Vegito Blue
2nd Oona Hinders – Okoboji The Pink Planet
3rd Morgan Vander Brink – Rock Valley The Loss of a Pastime
Photography/Digital Media – Honorable Mention
1st Romel Lopez – Central Lyon One Point Perspective
2nd Emily Vogel – MOC-Floyd Valley Building Blocks
3rd Riley Teunissen – Rock Valley 2017-18 RV Boys Bball

Students’ Choice Award
Karissa Butler – Sibley-Ocheyedan Window 2 Oasis

Best in Show
Marra Oldenkamp – Sheldon Untitled

The eleven northwest Iowa high schools who participated are: Boyden-Hull, Central Lyon,
MMC-RU, MOC-Floyd Valley, Okoboji, Rock Valley, Sheldon,
Sibley-Ocheyedan, Sioux Center, West Lyon, West Sioux.