NCC Inducts Students into Phi Theta Kappa

On November 20, 2019, sixteen (16) students were inducted into Phi Theta Kappa at Northwest Iowa Community College. Phi Theta Kappa is an international honor society of the two-year college, NCC’s chapter is called Beta Lambda Pi.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Mississippi, is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters on college campuses in all 50 of the United States, Canada, Germany, the Republic of Palau, Peru, the Republic of the Marshall Islands, the Federated States of Micronesia, the British Virgin Islands, the United Arab Emirates, and U.S. territorial possessions. More than 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with approximately 134,000 students inducted annually.

The Mission of Phi Theta Kappa is: “The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa shall be to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa shall provide opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.”

Students were invited to be a part of Phi Theta Kappa, based on eligibility requirements that center on having a 3.5 GPA.  Dr. John Hartog, Vice President, Student and Academic Services, Deb Kleinwolterink, Director of the Health Department and Associate Degree Nursing Instructor, Kevin Miller, Emergency Services Education Coordinator, and Laura Nachtigal, Executive Assistant & Board Secretary are the sponsors for the group.

Some service learning projects that NCC’s chapter has completed in previous years include:

  • Soles for Souls shoe drive
  • Operation Christmas Child
  • Book drives
  • Food drives
  • Toy drives
  • Campus clean-up
  • Hat and mitten drives
  • Collect personal care items for Family Crisis Center, etc.

More information about Phi Theta Kappa can be found at  To find out more about NCC call 800-352-4907, email, or visit our website at  At NCC, Your Success is Our Story!

New PTK members:

  1. Samantha Anderson               Sheldon, IA
  2. Rachel Crist                            Hartley, IA
  3. Lindsey Cundiff                       Pocahontas, IA
  4. Jayden Fedders                      Sioux Center, IA
  5. Ashley Heetland                      Hartley, IA
  6. Jacqueline Hyronemus           Inwood, IA
  7. Brenden Johnson                    Sibley, IA
  8. Olivia Laning                           Hull, IA
  9. Jill Nachtigal                            Little Rock, IA
  10. Kristin Roth                             Milford, IA
  11. Erika Van BeeK                      Rock Valley, IA
  12. Alyssa Van Surksum              Rock Valley, IA
  13. Katelyn Vander Stoep             Hartley, IA
  14. Jolene Vander Waal               Orange City, IA
  15. Elizabeth Warnke                    Primghar, IA
  16. Brooke Zevenbergen              Hospers, IA

Returning PTK members:

  1. Nelson Momanti                      Sanborn, IA
  2. Ada Palafox                            Rock Valley, IA
  3. Anna Schmidt                         George, IA
  4. Crystal Starr                            Hartley, IA
  5. Jason Stegeman                     Matlock, IA
  6. Mechelle Williams                   Spencer, IA