NCC Students Recognized on the All-Academic Team

Two Northwest Iowa Community College students were named to the All-Iowa Academic Team. Nicole Harrington and Taylor Howing were recognized at the annual All-Iowa Academic Team Banquet Wednesday evening, February 28, in Des Moines, Iowa.

The All-Iowa Academic Team award is an award that is offered through the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society in conjunction with the USA TODAY All-USA Community College Academic Team, and the Coca-Cola All-State Community College Academic Team each year.

Students who apply for this award must be meet the following criteria:
• Be currently enrolled at their respective community college with a minimum of 36 total credits already obtained
• Be on track to earn an Associate or a Bachelor degree with a minimum of 30 semester credits in the last 5 years
• Must hold a minimum GPA of 3.5 on a possible 4.0 scale

Individuals from each Community College in the state of Iowa are selected by a committee on campus, to represent the College on the state level. Then from all of the Academic Teams from across the state of Iowa, 60 outstanding two-year college students are selected to proceed onto the All-USA Academic Team. This prestigious award is given each year to represent the state of Iowa at the national level.

All 60 members of the All-USA Academic Team and their colleges receive extensive national recognition through coverage in USA TODAY. Selection to the team is based on nominations submitted by community college presidents or campus CEOs. Phi Theta Kappa, USA TODAY, and the American Association of Community Colleges sponsor the All-USA Academic Team program annually.

The criteria are designed to find students who excel academically and demonstrate intellectual rigor in their course of study; show academic growth and potential; and use their two-year college education to better themselves, their schools and their communities. Because the team is designed to represent the diversity found on two-year college campuses, all types of students – traditional, non-traditional and international – are eligible.

Nicole Harrington is from Spencer, Iowa and Taylor Howing is from Hartley, Iowa. Both honorees are Associate Degree Nursing students and will graduate from Northwest Iowa Community College in May of 2018.