Scholarships Awarded to Powerline Students

Students in the Powerline program at Northwest Iowa Community College, Sheldon, IA, have received scholarships based on academic achievement and leadership qualities.
The Powerline Scholarship, endowed by the electrical power industry, was awarded to eight students who exemplify excellence in the program. Colton Dietrick, La Porte City, IA; Nathan Feldman, Sherrill, IA; Cameron Kemper, Winchester, IL; Mason Ochiltree, Wilton, IA; Mason Pauley, Coal Valley, IL; Joseph Sanders, Quincy, IL; Tyler Strohecker, Winchester, IL; and Jacob Tackenberg, Wapello, IA, were recognized for this honor.
The Mel Marcotte Memorial Powerline Scholarship was established in memory of Mel Marcotte, an instructor at NCC for over 23 years. Marcotte was instrumental in creating the Powerline Program at NCC. An endowment has been set up for scholarship purposes through funds from Marcotte’s children, former students, industry leaders, current Powerline instructors, and Powerline program funds. This year’s recipient of the Mel Marcotte Memorial Powerline Scholarship is Jacob Kopriva of Pocahontas, IA.
The Peter J. Dudgeon Memorial Powerline Scholarship has been awarded to Trevor Lloyd, Spencer, IA. The Scholarship was established in memory of Peter J. Dudgeon by his family and co-workers. Peter was a 1990 graduate of the Powerline program.
The Bill Franey Memorial Powerline Scholarship was established in memory of Bill Franey. The recipient of the Bill Franey Memorial Powerline Scholarship is Brandon Assman, Rockwell City, IA. Bill began his career with the Greene County REC which later became Midland Power Cooperative. He worked for the Cooperative for 30 years starting as an apprentice lineman and for the last ten years of his career he served as line superintendent. He retired after 41 years with the Cooperative. The memorial has been established by Bill’s wife, Shirley.
David Conway, Hartley, IA, and Nate Phillips, Williamstown, MO, have been awarded Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives – Pioneer Trust Scholarships. The Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives – Pioneer Trust Scholarships were awarded to these gentlemen based on their academic achievement. The Scholarship is awarded to a traditional and a non-traditional student who obtain the highest grade point average at the end of their second semester.
Jacob Demuth, Marion, IA, has been awarded the Sheldon Competition Park Legacy Scholarship. The Sheldon Competition Park was a motorsports complex that offered Motocross, Demolition Derby, Go-Karts and Mud Drags. The complex was constructed with the aid of NCC’s Powerline and Heavy Equipment programs.
Trevor Lloyd, Spencer, IA, has been awarded the Wesley and Rita Freml Memorial Scholarship. The Wesley and Rita Freml Memorial Scholarship was created in honor of Wesley and Rita Freml. The Freml’s raised six boys, all of which became employed by power cooperatives throughout the state of Iowa.
The Eastern Iowa Light & Power Cooperative Scholarship was established to encourage students in that service area to attend the Powerline program at NCC. This year’s recipients are: Justin Chesmore, Wapello, IA; Jacob Demuth, Marion, IA; Mason Ochiltree, Wilton, IA; Austin Parmenter, Cedar Rapids, IA; Jacob Tackenberg, Wapello, IA; and Randy Young, New London, IA

Left to right front: Gary Morris, David Conway, Nathan Feldman, Tyler Strohecker, Cameron Kemper, Colton Dietrick, Joseph Sanders, Mason Ochiltree, Jacob Demuth, Aaron Dvorak
Back: Bryce Anderson, Jacob Kopriva, Jacob Tackenberg, Trevor Lloyd, Brandon Assman, Justin Chesmore, Nate Phillips, Austin Parmenter, Mason Pauley, Lee Van Kley