Scholarships Awarded to Powerline Students

Students in the Powerline program at Northwest Iowa Community College, Sheldon, IA, have received scholarships based on academic achievement and leadership qualities.
The Powerline Scholarship, endowed by the electrical power industry, was awarded to four students who exemplify excellence in the program and is worth $250. Dylan Low, St. Ansgar, IA; Noah Simon, Lamoni, IA; Levi Stanton, Dunkerton; and Andrew Yenney, Savanna, IL, were recognized for this honor.
The Mel Marcotte Memorial Powerline Scholarship was established in memory of Mel Marcotte, an instructor at NCC for over 23 years. Marcotte was instrumental in creating the Powerline Program at NCC. An endowment has been set up for scholarship purposes through funds from Marcotte’s children, former students, industry leaders, current Powerline instructors, and Powerline program funds. This year’s recipient of the $500 Mel Marcotte Memorial Powerline Scholarship is Dominic Cresta of New Virginia, IA.
The Peter J. Dudgeon Memorial Powerline Scholarship has been awarded to Kendall Bunn, Brooklyn, IA. The Scholarship for $400 was established in memory of Peter J. Dudgeon by his family and co-workers. Peter was a 1990 graduate of the Powerline program.
The Bill Franey Memorial Powerline Scholarship was established in memory of Bill Franey. The recipient of the $750 Bill Franey Memorial Powerline Scholarship is Kaden Hewlett, Murray, IA. Bill began his career with the Greene County REC which later became Midland Power Cooperative. He worked for the Cooperative for 30 years starting as an apprentice lineman and for the last ten years of his career he served as line superintendent. He retired after 41 years with the Cooperative. The memorial has been established by Bill’s wife, Shirley.
Hunter McIntosh, Osceola, IA, and Cole Wellman, Fowler, IL, have been awarded Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives – Pioneer Trust Scholarships. The Iowa Association of Electric Cooperatives – Pioneer Trust Scholarships are $1,000 and were awarded to these gentlemen based on their academic achievement. The Scholarship is awarded to a traditional and a non-traditional student who obtain the highest grade point average at the end of their second semester.
Jade Pringnitz, Garner, IA, has been awarded the Sheldon Competition Park Legacy Scholarship. This scholarship is $250. The Sheldon Competition Park was a motorsports complex that offered Motocross, Demolition Derby, Go-Karts and Mud Drags. The complex was constructed with the aid of NCC’s Powerline and Heavy Equipment programs.
Hunter McIntosh, Osceola, IA, has been awarded the Wesley and Rita Freml Memorial Scholarship. The Wesley and Rita Freml Memorial Scholarship is $500 and was created in honor of Wesley and Rita Freml. The Freml’s raised six boys, all of which became employed by power cooperatives throughout the state of Iowa.
The Eastern Iowa Light & Power Cooperative Scholarship was established to encourage students in that service area to attend the Powerline program at NCC. This year’s recipients are: Colton Chown, Lone Tree, IA; Logan Harbison, Crawfordsville, IA; Tyler Lindhoff, Le Claire, IA; Tate Olson, Grand Mound, IA; and Evan Siebert, Iowa City, IA. The amount of the scholarship varies from $1,000 to $3,500.

Left to right back: Gary Morris (Instructor), Bryce Anderson (Instructor), Noah Simon, Cole Wellman, Levi Stanton, Logan Harbison, Tyler Lindhoff, Colton Chown, Kendall Bunn, and Lee Van Kley (instructor). Left to right front: Dominic Cresta, Evan Siebert, Tate Olson, Dylan Lowe, Jade Pringnitz, Hunter McIntosh, Kaden Hewlett, Andrew Yenney, Morgan Granstra (Foundation and Alumni Relations Coordinator), and Aaron Dvorak (instructor).